Live Like a Warrior

Like many people I love to read and watch fantasy stories. Tales of adventure, good triumphing over evil, sword fights, magic spells, pirates, dragons, fairies, mermaids. I love to see a good fight near the end of the story, where the hero bravely battles the villain and, after a few sharp breaths, we see light conquer darkness for good and we go away feeling satisfied that the ending was as it should be.

Have you ever wondered if your life could be like that? Filled with adventure, fulfilling your destiny.

Here’s the shocker: a life with Christ is just that…and much more!

courtesy of azboomer

courtesy of azboomer

When we become a Christian, we’re asking God to enter our lives, fill our hearts, and to keep our minds fresh and new. There is risk in following Christ; we are called to give up what we have and give it to Him. This is not a popular sacrifice, and it’s one that puts off many new followers. But if we really want to start living, then it’s what we need to do.

Becoming a Christian means following wherever he leads. I prayed a prayer when I was 15 that he would make my life an adventure, that I would live like a warrior for him. And, surprise surprise, he’s filled my life with excitement, romance, adventure, new opportunities and fresh perspectives. My life has been a life of hope; even through bullying, depression, oppression, stress, fatigue, ridicule, humiliation and despair, I have been able to come out of all of it knowing that I’m a little bit closer to God and a little more in love with Him. Because I trusted in him and praised him even when I couldn’t see any light, He has blessed me. And I now know that even if the worst happens and I lose everything again, he won’t forsake me. He is there fighting for me.

courtesy of skeeze

courtesy of skeeze

But the greatest part is, I can be there fighting with him! In one of my previous posts (A Better Way To Live https://warriorwoman1990.wordpress.com/2015/06/06/a-better-way-to-live/), I mentioned that we’re fighting a spiritual war. And that means we need to STAND AND FIGHT. Say ‘no’ when temptation drives you to say something you know you shouldn’t. Say ‘no’ when we’re overwhelmed with the urge to worry. Say ‘no’ to lies about our self-image, our self-confidence and our self-worth. We are people designed for something more than this. We can stand and fight for our beliefs.

Many Christians around the world are being persecuted because they believe in the hope that Jesus brings. (see http://www.opendoors.org) In England, we are privileged to live in a society where we can openly share and discuss our faith. We can read our bibles in public, pray whenever we feel called, and preach the gospel without risking our lives. 2 Timothy 2:3 says this: “Endure suffering along with me, as a good soldier of Christ Jesus.” (NLT) We can stand up for justice by supporting Christian charities (www.compassionuk.org), we can fight for a healthy mind by telling Satan to take his lies elsewhere. With Christ on our side, who can be against us? Let’s start living like a warrior today.

IMG_2720

“If we die with him, we will also live with him.

If we endure hardship, we will reign with him.

If we deny him, he will deny us.

If we are unfaithful, he remains faithful, for he cannot deny who he is.”

2 Timothy 2:11-13

©2015 by Rachel Leathers

Leave a Reply

